No matter where you live, it is essential to know the minimum auto insurance coverage. This ensures that you comply with all New York State motor vehicle insurance laws. That, in turn, lets you avoid consequences for failing to comply, such as fines or even jail time.
What Is the Minimum Auto Insurance Coverage in New York?
There are several key elements to the NY car insurance requirements—no-fault/personal injury protection, liability, and uninsured motorist coverage.
No-fault or personal injury protection (PIP) insurance pays for medical expenses as well as other reasonable expenses, including lost earnings, for someone injured by your car. It applies to passengers, drivers, and pedestrians.
Liability insurance pays for damage to property or injuries caused by your car.
Uninsured motorist coverage in New York pays for injuries if you are in an accident with someone who is uninsured or in a hit-and-run. It also covers your passengers and your family.
What Are the Auto Insurance Laws in New York?
New York also requires that the name on your auto insurance matches the name on the vehicle registration. To make this easier to do, the state lets you have two names on the registration.
Additionally, before registering a vehicle, you will need to prove that you meet the minimum car insurance for NYS.
Penalties for Not Following NYS Auto Insurance Laws
According to the state laws, if you do not meet the New York State minimum liability car insurance, you can face varying consequences. These include having your vehicle registration and license revoked for a year or more and/or a fine from the traffic court. The fines for not having the minimum car insurance in NY could be up to $1,500. It will at least be $150. You may also face up to 15 days in jail. On top of that, there is a $750 fee to get your license back after it is revoked.
You cannot expect to get around the New York State auto insurance requirements, as all insurers automatically notify the DMV when your policy lapses.
When your license is suspended due to a failure to maintain insurance you can either surrender your plates and registration within 90 days or reinstate your insurance. Reinstatement involves the payment of daily fees until you reinstate your insurance coverage. For up to 30 days, you will pay a daily $8 fee. The next 30 days each has a $10 daily fee. The final 30 days have a $12 fee each day.
What Is NYS Minimum Personal Injury Liability Coverage?
The NYS minimum personal injury liability coverage requirements are very specific, as are the other requirements for liability coverage.
For property damage, you must have at least $10,000 of coverage per accident.
For bodily injury, you need at least $25,000 coverage for bodily injury and at least $50,000 for death. These figures double for accidents affecting more than two people.
Notably, New York requires you to meet these minimums even if you aren’t using the vehicle. Additionally, the coverage has to be provided by a NY State-certified insurance company licensed by the NYS Department of Financial Services. This means that out-of-state insurance may not meet the minimum requirement
What to Do If You’re Hit by an Uninsured Motorist
Even with the NY motor vehicle insurance requirements, not every car on the road will have insurance. This leads many drivers to wonder what happens if you get hit by an uninsured motorist.
Your uninsured motorist coverage in New York is designed to take care of this. It is worth noting that New York State auto insurance requirements require you to have the same coverage as you would for liability insurance. This means you will have at least $25,000 coverage for bodily injury with your uninsured motorist coverage.
If that does not cover all of your medical bills, you may be able to sue the uninsured driver. There is never a guarantee that they will be able to pay the amount of your claim. However, there are some methods to help you get the money in the future, as a lien on their home or other significant assets.
It’s Best to Get Help From a Lawyer
If you were involved in a car accident and the at-fault driver does not meet the New York State minimum liability car insurance requirements, it’s best to contact a lawyer. They will help you receive fair compensation from your insurance company. If necessary, they will also help you file a claim against the uninsured driver.
Working with a lawyer will take a great deal of the hassle out of your hands, as they will handle the legal documents. They will also be aware of deadlines, so you don’t miss any. On top of that, they can directly negotiate with your insurance company to help you receive fair compensation. That is important, as insurance companies seldom want to make a full payout. Auto Accident Lawyers in New York will also help you predict the future medical costs of injuries to ensure you receive fair compensation.
Follow the Same Basics as You Would for Any Other Accident
If you are in a car accident with an uninsured motorist in New York, you should follow the same basic guidelines that you would for any other accident. That includes getting their contact information, license plate number, and driver’s license number. If they have lapsed insurance, get their policy information. You should also take pictures of the scene and damage, file a police report, and ask witnesses for contact information.
At Sattler Law Group we are committed to recovering the maximum compensation possible for our clients. Call us at 914-239-4900 to speak with one of our auto accident attorneys.